My friend is going to THAILAND!

My dear dear friend (yes, don’t be surprised. You’re quite dear to me. You won’t believe how much I type for you) and her handsome boyfriend are visiting in Bangkok this summer. Unfortunately I’ll be in India for the entire time they are there. So, I put together an itinerary for them. It’s based on popular Bangkok itineraries, my friend’s personality, and my insider’s knowledge of course. This itinerary should be useful for any first-timers in Bangkok who want to get around on their own with no local guide. *In the past seven years, I spent less than a month in Thailand a year, so I could be quite off in terms of new trends.

As a Thai, I still need to google up a lot to come up a lot with this plan. You know, when it comes to showing your house around, you realize you forget where the fancy stuff are. I’ve been to most of these places at least once (in the distant past with little recollection of it. I’m sure a lot of my Thai friends are like that too). I’ve never been to many fancy restaurants listed in here, but I know that they’re famous even among local Thais so you’re safe. Usually when I’m in Thailand, I’d just eat at my favorite ugly/dirty-looking local street stalls. These sure won’t impress any tourist.

My friends are visiting 5 days, 4 nights. Ideally, I’d want them to go other places outside of Bangkok like beaches, but that’s not happening here. The itinerary is quite long. I sum it up right here and the actual itinerary is in a separate post here: https://ctgdiary.wordpress.com/2012/05/28/an-itinerary-for-bangkok/

Day 1: Arrive at 11am in BKK
Airport – Hotel – Lunch at a nearby MK restaurant (thai-style hotpot) – Museum Siam – Yaowarat (Street food in China town) – Khao San Road

Day 2: Cultural day
Grand palace – National Museum – Street food at Tha Phrachan pier (lunch) – Boat ride on Chao Phraya river – Wat Arun – Afternoon tea along the river – Dinner on a river cruise

Day 3. Shopping day
Chatuchak Weekend Market – Shopping malls in the city (Siam Paragon, MBK, Central World) – Fancy dinner of your choice

Day 4. Day trip outside of Bangkok
2 options to one of these floating markets: Damnoen Saduak or Amphawa floating market. I’d want you to go to the later.

Day 5. Figure it out yourself. Pick up a guidebook. By now, you would have experienced Bangkok enough to plan today on your own (basically, I’m out of ideas haha).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My friend is going to THAILAND!

  1. Pingback: An Itinerary for 5 Days 4 Nights in Bangkok | Away from White Blankie

Leave a Reply

